Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Local Races Produce Little Surprise in 2014 Primary; Three Incumbent Legislators Lose Statewide

Primary Election night in Marion County produced little in the way of surprises.  The favorites won nearly everything in a manner that was expected.

In the Indiana House District 91 race between Bob Behning and Michael Scott, it was close early, but Behning pulled away for a victory.  He will face Democrat Patrick Lockhart in November in a race Democrats know they have to have to begin to make a move in the Indiana House.  Registration in the district favors Behning, but an angry group of Scott supporters aren't likely going back over to Behning.

In the 7th District for U.S. Congress, Congressman Andre Carson cruised to victory over his three challengers pulling in about 90 percent of the vote.  On the Republican side, Cat Ping outdistanced four other Republicans for the right to battle Carson in November.

In Marion County races, the eight Democratic party-backed candidates for Superior Court Judge easily carried out of the 11 candidates running.  Mark Brown lost for a second-consecutive time to Sheriff John Layton.  Franklin Township Board member Christine Bischoff downed perennial candidate Jocelyn T. Tandy Adande.

At the township level, former City-County Councillor Susie Day won the Republican nomination for Perry Township Trustee.  Incumbent Small Claims Court Judge Democrat Michelle Smith Scott lost to party-backed Brenda Roper.

Statewide, sitting House incumbents Rebecca Kubacki and Kathy Heuer were defeated by their Republican opposition Curt Nisly and Christopher Judy.  Also, Republican Senate incumbent John Waterman was defeated by challenger Eric Bassler in southwest Indiana.  Kubacki and Heuer both voted against HJR-3.

No comments: