Thursday, March 6, 2014

A Look at Indiana's 2014 U.S. House Races

Indiana U.S. House Delegation and Senators pose
with Governor Mike Pence
When it comes to Indiana U.S. House races for 2014, some are busier than others, according to the website, Ballotpedia.

In District 1, it will be another showdown between Pete Visclosky and Mark Leyva.  Neither apparently has an opponent.  Visclosky is the Dean of the Indiana Congressional Delegation now having taken office in 1985.  It seems that Leyva has been his opponent almost since that time.  He has run in every election since 1998 except for the 2012 election.  Just go ahead an mark down Visclosky for yet another term.

In District 2, Republican Jackie Walorski does not have any competition from her own party, but the Democrats are certainly busy on their side.  Democrat Joe Bock has over $181,000 in his campaign account to do battle with Walorski.  Brendan Mullen nearly defeated Walorski in 2012, but he declined to run in 2014.  Other Democrats in the race in District 2 include former Indiana House candidate Dan Morrison, Douglas Carpenter, and...wait for it...Bobby Kern.  Yep...that Bob Kern.

Marlin Stutzman has drawn two challengers to his seat on his own side of the aisle.  Mark Baringer and James Mahoney will challenge the GOP incumbent in the Primary.  On the Democratic side, Jim Redmond, Tommy Schrader, and Justin Kuhlne will battle for the nomination.

Kevin Grant will take on incumbent Todd Rokita in the May Primary in District 4.  For the Democrats, educator John Dale will take on Howard Joseph Pollchik, Roger Day, John Futrell, and Jeffery Blades will battle it out.  Libertarian Joe Bowman is also in this race.

In the 5th District, Susan Brooks is expected to hold on to her seat, but her political career will have to survive the May challenge of a couple of Davids, Stockdale and Campbell, as well as three Democrats who would face her in November (Allen Davidson, David Ford, and Shawn Denney).

Republican incumbent Luke Messer is unopposed in the 6th District.  Three Democrats (Susan Hall Heitzman, Connie Westerfield, and 2012 nominee Lane Siekman) will lock horns in May to take on Messer in May.

In the 7th District, Congressman Andre Carson has token opposition from past candidates Rev. Mmoja Ajabu and Pierre Pullins.  Newcomer Curtis Godfrey has also filed to run against Carson in the May Primary.  On the Republican side, past candidates J.D. Minear and Wayne Harmon are joined by Erin McGee, Cat Ping, and Gordon Smith.

In the 8th District, Congressman Larry Bucshon will face fellow Republican Andrew McNeil in the Primary before he can turn his attention to battling battling with Democrat Tom Spangler and Libertarian Andy Horning in November.

Finally, in the 9th District, former Seymour Mayor Bill Bailey is the favored Democrat in a field that includes James McClure Jr., J.S. Miller, and William Joseph Thomas.  Incumbent Republican Rep. Todd Young has his hands full in the Primary with a pair of challengers, Mark Jones and Kathy Lowe Heil.  Neither is named Sodrel, so Young should be fine in the May Primary season.

No comments: