Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Hawaii To Become 16th State to Recognize Same-Sex Marriages

Hawaii's legislature passed legislation that would make it the 16th state to recognize same-sex marriages.  Just last week, Illinois did the same thing to become the 15th state.  In September, a court case was decided to make New Jersey the 13th state.  
If things seem to be moving fast, they are.  Since January 1, eight states (and the federal government) have been added to the list of government entities now recognizing same-sex marriages.  It's been a remarkable time to be alive and to be a member of the LGBTQ community.

If you go back 10 years, no states recognized same-sex marriage.  Massachusetts was the first in May of 2004.  California, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont, New Hampshire, the District of Columbia, New York, Washington, and Maine were to follow.  This year, Maryland, Rhode Island, Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, Illinois, and Hawaii are the seven states that have been added.  There's still time for more, and there seems to be a new battleground opening.  New Mexico neither recognizes nor bans same sex unions in the Land of Enchantment.  

A few other states like Oregon, Nevada, Wisconsin, and Colorado allow relationships similar to marriage for those who are in same-sex relationships.  You would figure that perhaps someday not in the too distant future that these states might convert over to pure marriage equality.

Eventually some case is likely to bubble up to the U.S. Supreme Court as well, and that might just bring equality more quickly than we think when it comes to same-sex marriage.  One way or another, it's just fun to be here right now and watch as our society becomes more open and more accepting and more tolerant.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Curious, what is your position regarding the state recognition of relationships between more than two people as marriage?