Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Election Night Big for Democrats

The votes aren't all in just yet, but it appears that President Barack Obama has won reelection as President of the United States.  With Associated Press calls in Nevada and Colorado, President Obama has reached 290 votes with both Virginia and Florida still to be decided.  The Democrats will hold the Senate.

Locally, Mitt Romney won Indiana, and Mike Pence will be the Governor of our state beginning in January defeating John Gregg.  Democrat Joe Donnelly is going to the United States Senate as expected defeating GOP Tea Party candidate, Richard Mourdock.

In a stunning upset, Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett outspent his challenger Glenda Ritz, but it didn't work as a Democrat took home a statewide office for the first time since Governor Joe Kernan left office in 2004.  Ritz now will face a very hostile GOP-dominated General Assembly and a Governor named Pence.  It will be interesting to see what she's able to accomplish.

In the Congressional races, status quo developed with some different faces.  Pete Visclosky, Marlin Stutzman, Todd Rokita, Luke Messer, and Todd Young all return their parties to Congress.  Brendan Mullen made it close, but Jackie Walorski is headed to Washington.  Susan Brooks prevailed in the 5th District, and, in the Bloody 8th, Larry Buschon was reelected.

In the 7th District race, Congressman Andre Carson broke the 60 percent barrier and exceeded his baseline vote winning over Carlos May.

There are several General Assembly races that were very close.  At press time Senate District 30's race between Scott Schneider and Tim Delaney is simply too close to call.  Unfortunately, it appears Mary Ann Sullivan, John Barnes, and Mark Waterfill were defeated in their Senate bids.

Karlee Macer turned House District 92 blue, and Justin Moed easily dispatched A.J. Feeney-Ruiz holding House 97.  It appears that Cindy Noe has been defeated by a handful of votes by Christina Hale.

Claudia Fuentes, Debbie Jenkins, and Frank Lloyd are all staying in their Marion County Offices.  Congratulations to the Democrats in Perry Township for winning a seat on the Perry Township Advisory Board.

This is getting long.  I'll be reacting the rest of the week on these results all the rest of the week.  Bottom line: Congratulations to the winners!  Thanks for running for those that came up short.  We have, as a party, had a great 2012.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I posted here at 7:30pm on the night before the election that I thought Glenda Ritz could be the upset winner of the day. I love it when I am correct. I just wished it happened more often!