Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Donnelly Votes to Reaffirm DOMA

LGBT Hoosiers had concerns about Brad Ellsworth's stance on their issues during the 2010 Senate race, and it appears that they will have even more concerns with Joe Donnelly, the 2012 frontrunner for the Democratic nomination for Senate.

Donnelly voted to reaffirm the Defense of Marriage Act last week after North Carolina Republican Virgina Foxx slipped the amendment in as a rider on a defense spending bill. Nineteen Democrats (including Donnelly) voted for the Foxx amendment and six Republicans voted against it.

Once again, the Indiana Democratic Party has anointed a candidate with sketchy views on issues important to key constituency groups. There's plenty of room under the Democratic Party tent for Joe Donnelly, but it doesn't mean that myself or any other D's have to vote for him.

Hopefully, I will have a chance to meet with Congressman Donnelly on the campaign trail and look him in the eye on this issue. I was able to do that with Congressman Ellsworth, and I became supportive...even passionately supportive of his campaign. My first impressions of Donnelly so far certainly have not been impressive.


Anonymous said...

Hey Jon not all Democrats support same-sex marraige.

Jon E. Easter said...

That may be true, but this is my blog, and I do.

Paul K. Ogden said...


I wasn't clear from your post. Did he vote for the DOMA amendment or the overall bill with the DOMA amendment in it?

If it's the latter, then maybe he was voting on the overall bill and he had to to stomach the fact that DOMA was attached.

Anonymous said...

Jon I think Paul is right he did vote on the original bill without the DOMA rider.

Anonymous said...

Donnelly is not right on many issues. I hate to say it but it looks like I will sit out another U.S. Senate race in Indiana.

Jon E. Easter said...

From the article I linked within the post:

"19 Democrats voted in favor of the amendment: Reps. Jason Altmire (D-Pa.), John Barrow (D-Ga.), Sanford Bishop (D-Ga.), Dan Boren (D-Okla.), Ben Chandler (D-Ky.), Jerry Costello (D-Ill.), Mark Critz (D-Pa.), Henry Cuellar (D-Texas), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Gene Green (D-Texas), Tim Holden (D-Pa.), Larry Kissell (D-N.C.), Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.), Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.), James Matheson (D-Utah), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Nich Rahall (D-W.V.), Mike Ross (D-Ark.) and Heath Shuler (D-N.C.)."