Friday, February 11, 2011

Slating Saturday Provides Some Interesting Races

The Marion County Democratic Party released this news advisory yesterday which includes a list of all the candidates for slating by party loyalists on Saturday. Ward Chairs, Vice Ward Chairs, Precinct Committeepersons and Vice PCs will cast votes by touchscreen voting (I'm sure that won't make possible conspiracy theorists happy to not have a paper trail) ANNNNNYYYYYWAAYYYYY...

Here is a portion of the advisory from the MCDP.

The following candidates have filed candidacy declaration papers with the Marion County Democratic Party:

Mayor: Melina Kennedy
CCC At-Large A: Joanne Sanders
CCC At-Large B: Pat Andrews, John Barth
CCC At-Large C: Zach Adamson
CCC At-Large D: Annette Johnson, Leroy Robinson
CCC District 1: Jose Evans
CCC District 2: Angela Mansfield
CCC District 3: Len Farber
CCC District 4: Kostas Poulakidas
CCC District 6: Brett Voorhies
CCC District 7: Maggie Lewis
CCC District 8: Monroe Gray
CCC District 9: Joe Simpson
CCC District 10: William “Duke” Oliver
CCC District 11: Paul Bateman, Steve Talley
CCC District 12: Regina Marsh
CCC District 15: David King Baird, Vop Osili
CCC District 16: Brian Mahern
CCC District 17: Mary Moriarty Adams
CCC District 18: Vernon Brown
CCC District 19: Dane Mahern

For planning purposes only, doors open at 9:00 a.m., the convention will be gaveled to order at or about 10:00 a.m. There will be a brief program, including remarks by Congressman André Carson and election by acclamation of the unopposed candidates. The Mayoral nominee will speak about 10:30 a.m. Following that, voting will proceed by touch screen machines. We anticipate voting finishing around 11:45 and a closing gavel by 12:00 noon.

No Democratic candidates filed for slating in Districts 5, 13, 14, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, or 25.

Obviously the At-Large races in slots B and D will be ones to watch. District 11 features incumbent Paul Bateman against former seat holder and Council President Steve Talley, and slot 15 is a showdown between former Wayne Township Trustee David King Baird and Vop Osili.

I believe that only voters living in those Council Districts where there is a contested seat can cast ballots in those slating races. All voters will cast ballots in the At-Large races. I'm told that to vote, you must be credentialed by 10:00 a.m. Be early! Doors open at 9:00 a.m.

Putting to rest any questions about his support, Congressman Andre Carson is expected to introduce Melina Kennedy who is the only one of the now three Democrats running for Mayor that has filed for slating. Sam Carson and Ron Gibson are taking their fight to the Primary. In case you were wondering about his loyalty, sources close to Andre Carson have released this photo.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Why in the world Ed use those horrible mistake prone touch screen machines? They also leave no paper trail. I don't like to use them.